Why I’m fighting for ACA

What is ACA? It’s the Affordable Care Act or better known as Obamacare. I know the plan isn’t perfect, but it has helped me out a great deal. I had been taking your typical birth control pill for years, but with my crazy schedule I couldn’t guarantee taking the pill within the same time frame every day. For me, it was unreliable and I wasn’t leaving my future up to chance. I started researching IUDs after my best friend got one. This is a semi-permanent birth control that is inserted through your Urethra and can last up to 5 years without any maintenance. I was sold! This sounded like the perfect birth control for an independent, busy woman. The only problem was that an IUD could cost up to $1,500. As a teacher, I didn’t have that kind of money to spend. I thought I’d go to my OBGYN and ask her if there was a way I could get it at a more reasonable price. After I explained to her my woes, she told me not to worry. Thanks to ACA my IUD was completely free! I was ecstatic. $1,500 in savings & more reliable birth control: now that’s an idea that I could get behind! If ACA is repealed, the prices of birth control will sky rocket again. I am so lucky that my IUD lasts another 4 years (perfect timing), but I want other women to be able to protect their bodies at an affordable cost just like I was able to. Do your own research, and make your own choice on this important political decision. I know where I stand.

Leave a comment